I might be banned from the grocery stores…

full-shopping-cart

Ok, now that I am completely acclimated into the Paleo lifestyle, I am finding it harder to shop at our local grocery store…and actually, if I continue to respond the way I do, you may soon see my “NOT WANTED” poster on the front doors.  The more I reasearch and educate myself about the error of our eating ways, I just can’t help myself!!  (well unless I shop with duct tape on my mouth and blinders on my eyes).

I need to back up just a bit…I used to go shopping and just try to get in and out without a care in the world.  (Not caring what I put in my carriage or what the other 500 shoppers put in theirs.)  But now that I have seen how food truly affects every aspect of a person’s health, I WANT to help save everyone.  I find myself biting my lip on every shopping outing, I can feel my muscles stiffen watching people pile processed junk into their carts and i want to throw all their  “healthy weight loss tv dinners” on the conveyor belt back in the freezer aisle.  The other day,  I almost went over to a man loading his trunk with cases of soda to give him my help, (not to put them in his car, but to offer him some life saving gallons of water instead).  I am sure he would have told me just what he thought of my help…and I don’t think it would have been to thank me;)  Another time I got into a big discussion with the cashiers and baggers regarding meat and their lack of “grass-fed products”.  One proceeded to tell me they were laughing about people who buy grass-fed meat.  Well, what I had to say to them didn’t leave them laughing or wanting to eat their (animal by-product, antibiotic treated, hormone loaded, grain filled, chemical laden) meat any time soon. 

It’s not just at grocery stores either, it’s at schools, restaurants, gatherings…I just feel the need to pull out my “Paleo soap box” and save the world.  I’m a teacher, it’s what we do, we educate people right?  My main objective is not to judge or make anyone feel bad, but to help people on a personal journey to a healthier and longer life.

I have found that I do much better shopping at health food stores, farmers markets, whole food stores or ordering items online.  It’s just good karma for me, it puts me in my happy place, I’m with my people…lol. 

So I will leave you with one piece of advice, if nothing else…please try to avoid products with High Fructose Corn Syrup or Corn Syrup. Oh, and if you see a lady walking around your local grocery store with duct tape and blinders on or in disguise, it might just be me,  the one banned from the grocery store.

Leave a comment